For the current REF, see the REF 2029 website | For REF 2021, see the REF 2021 website
You are in : Home » Expert panels » Units of Assessment

Units of Assessment

Submissions to the REF were made in 36 units of assessment. An expert sub-panel for each unit of assessment assessed each submission, working under the leadership and guidance of four main panels.

The units of assessment were:

Main panelUnit of assessment
A 1 Clinical Medicine
2 Public Health, Health Services and Primary Care
3 Allied Health Professions, Dentistry, Nursing and Pharmacy
4 Psychology, Psychiatry and Neuroscience
5 Biological Sciences
6 Agriculture, Veterinary and Food Science
B 7 Earth Systems and Environmental Sciences
8 Chemistry
9 Physics
10 Mathematical Sciences
11 Computer Science and Informatics
12 Aeronautical, Mechanical, Chemical and Manufacturing Engineering
13 Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Metallurgy and Materials
14 Civil and Construction Engineering
15 General Engineering
C 16 Architecture, Built Environment and Planning
17 Geography, Environmental Studies and Archaeology
18 Economics and Econometrics
19 Business and Management Studies
20 Law
21 Politics and International Studies
22 Social Work and Social Policy
23 Sociology
24 Anthropology and Development Studies
25 Education
26 Sport and Exercise Sciences, Leisure and Tourism
D 27 Area Studies
28 Modern Languages and Linguistics
29 English Language and Literature
30 History
31 Classics
32 Philosophy
33 Theology and Religious Studies
34 Art and Design: History, Practice and Theory
35 Music, Drama, Dance and Performing Arts
36 Communication, Cultural and Media Studies, Library and Information Management